Stop Hating Yourself

It’s easy to be hard on yourself.  It’s easy to run yourself into the ground.  It’s easy to hate yourself. And it sucks!  It sucks that it’s so easy. It sucks that we seem to have this insane goal in life to run ourselves down, constantly.  Maybe it’s our way of punishing ourselves for the things we do wrong.  Maybe we feel less guilty in life if we just give ourselves a hard time, all the time.  For whatever insane reason we do it though, it’s time to stop.  It’s time to stop hating ourselves!

This subject of self-hate has been on my mind for the longest time.  It’s something I struggle with on a daily basis and more often than not, I end up hating myself again.  Not because I don’t have a good life or great people in that good life, but because I always seem to fall short of my own expectations.  Crazy, yes?

There’s probably hundreds of goals you have in your life, and every day that goes by where you don’t do something to come closer to those goals is a day where you hate yourself a little more.  I’m not saying you shouldn’t have goals or convictions or anything like that, but how good of a life are you going to lead if you keep hating yourself every time you make another mistake?  Nobody is perfect and everybody will make mistakes, and guess what!? It’s okay.  

Now, I know goals vary from person to person, but one goal that’s been gnawing at me for about…5 or 6 years now, is the weight loss one.  I think it’s great if you want to get into better shape.  I think it’s great if you want to feel better.  I think it’s great that you want to take care of the body God gave you, because that’s how it should be.  What I think is not great is when the only thing you see in the mirror is stretch marks, excess fat and scars, and that’s how you end up defining yourself.  And then you  end up hating yourself.  More often than not, people start their ‘fitness’ journey because they’re not satisfied with how their bodies look.  In my opinion that’s the worst way to start your fitness journey.  That’s how I would start mine, and they ALWAYS ended up the same way.  Me, crying, hating that I wasn’t a size 2, hating myself for loving food too much, and wishing I could just get to a point where I would actually love my body.  And guess what?  I’m still not there.  I still struggle with loving the body I live in.  It’s an every day battle!!!  But I know that if I don’t love it the way it is now, I’ll never love it no matter how fit it gets.  It’s not about the shape you have that should define who you are.  It’s time to let go of the insane notion that the only way you can be happy is once you’ll get your abs or lose some more fat.  Stop!  The only reason you should workout and eat right is so that you can feel healthier and stronger. It should never be about wanting to look good for once, because you already look good!

If I could change one thing, I’d change how people feel about themselves.  I wish that everyone could learn how to forgive themselves for the mistakes they’ve made, because it’s so important to just let go of the past so you can have a great future! 

One of the many reasons I brought up this whole subject of hating your own body is because I’m tired of seeing these ads for getting “summer ready” by giving you these workouts to do and diet shakes to drink, and then when it’s time to hit the beach, you’ll be “ready.”  HUH?  I thought maybe getting a new swimsuit, a bottle of sun screen and some flip flops might do a better job… 

Embrace your body!  Love your body!  The only reason you should ever change it, is to become a healthier version of yourself, not a “prettier” version! 

Leave a Reply

