Book Review on “The Shack”

So I read this book and I completely fell in love.  It was so much deeper than most fiction books I’ve read, and I just had to share my thoughts on it with you.

First of all, hats off to the author for portraying everything with such zest and passion that I was actually disappointed when I found out it was fiction.  His way with words just made everything come alive that I could hardly stop reading, and although it may not be a true story, it’s changed my outlook on a lot of things.

To start with, I want to give you a bit of an idea on what this book is about. It’s about a man, Mackenzie, who loses his little girl, Missy, to murder.  Evidence of this is found in a little shack in Oregon, and it’s been haunting Mack for over 4 years now.  One day he finds a mysterious note in the mail, namely from God, telling him to go to the shack and meet Him there.  Mack, against his better judgments decides to go, and the things he experiences there will change everything about his life.  That’s about as much as you need to know, for now.

To say that this book has changed the way I see God is an understatement.  It’s blown me away how well the author was able to make me see God in a new light, a light that made Him seem much more attentive to ones needs.  I know that many religions portray God as more of an emotionless being with little to no communication skills, but after you read this book, you’ll come to see that He is the exact opposite.  He isn’t just some bearded old man in the sky ready to pour his wrath on your life every time you do something wrong.  He doesn’t even cause the bad things to happen in your life.  It’s your choices and the choices of others that can lead to these tragedies.  Why?  Because we live in an imperfect world where we want to be independent from everyone and everything, and this leads to chaos and poor decisions and horrific events that no one wants to experience but does because of this insane need for “independence”.  If we would just realize that we can’t ever be independent from God, life would take a much smoother course.

Okay, moving right along, another thing I found interesting and odd at the same time is that the author didn’t write God to actually be a bearded old man.  Rather, he made Him a black woman with impeccable cooking skills.  The imagination of this author is absolutely mind boggling.  He seems to have caught the very essence of God in such an unusual, yet perfect way that you will never think of God the way you did before.

This book also clarifies that even though the Trinity of God is one, it’s also three individuals with unique characteristics, working together as a team with no actual boss.  It’s always given me headaches when I tried to figure out how it was possible that there was God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit, and yet they were really all just one person.  This story will make it much easier to understand.

There’s so many things in this book that I appreciate that I can’t even name them all, and I don’t want to spoil anything for you, so my advice to you is to just read it.  It will change your life just like it changed Mackenzie’s.  Your mind will be able to comprehend many of the things that haven’t made sense until now and you will realize just how insanely awesome God actually is.

Visit http://theshackbook.com/ to learn more.

Leave a comment below on your thoughts on this book if you’ve already read it.:)

And if you absolutely hate reading, I hear that they just released the movie version in theaters.

Book Review on The Shack (P)

One Comment Add yours

  1. readwithg says:

    Words cannot express the love I have for this book. I borrowed it from my friend a few years ago and it has yet to leave my bookshelf. I am not a religious person, but it changed a part of my life. I couldn’t recommend this book more. Lovely review, I’m happy to see someone share the same view as me on it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

